top of page
Full Group copy.jpeg

Until recently it was believed that Avonvale Rugby Football Club was founded in 1883 but new evidence suggests

that the club is actually 6 years older having been formed in 1877.

At the time of the club's formation, the rugby pitch by the crown pub was used by local Friendly Societies (clubs)

for sporting events and the sport of ‘football’ under rugby rules was growing in popularity. 


Instigated by the Reverend Thomas Rogers of St Johns church Batheaston, local parishioners were brought together

to form the Batheaston and Bathford Football Club playing their first rugby match in November 1877, with other

fixtures following shortly after.

The club continued to grow in the following years and its name was shortened to Batheaston FC and then renamed Avonvale FC in 1890.

We remain the oldest continuous junior rugby club in Bath, celebrating our 125th Anniversary in the 2008/2009 season.  

The rugby club was at its height in the 1970's where it boasted four and sometimes five senior teams. The 1980’s

saw the emergence of the first junior teams leading to a very strong colt’s side which has been repeated over

subsequent years winning league titles and becoming county cup finalists and cup winners in both

Somerset and Dorset and Wilts.


In recent years, Avonvale has reduced to one senior side, playing on a Saturday in the Southern Counties South league. During this time we have also invested significant time and resources into our Junior and Minis rugby and

are extremely proud to boast one of the most thriving sections in the area. 


The club has always been highly regarded for providing 'social rugby', putting equal effort into our members'

enjoyment of the game as we do into training, player development and performance.



Newcomers are always welcome at senior level and within all of our age grade teams.


Details of our senior squad, Junior and Mini teams, coaches and Committee can all be found on this site.

Club History

Avonvale RFC Membership 2022/23

Playing Membership:

Adult £80 (exclusive of £5 match fee per match)

Junior/Colts £60 (exclusive of match fees) + £30 per additional child

Minis £60 + £30 per additional child.

Non-Playing Membership:

Family £50. Single £40

Membership is due by October 1st 2022. Members benefit from a significant discount on bar prices. 

Your Executive Committee

Maurice Hall


Martin Bath


Graham Chignell

Vice Chairman 

Minis & Juniors Chairman

Disciplinary Officer

Kevin Hall

Hon. Secretary

Maria Bath


Chris Hobbs

Minis and Juniors Fixtures Secretary

Steve Cook

Safe Guarding Lead

Fundraising Secretary

Marcus Larbalestier

Club Captain

Steve Vowles

Fixture Secretary

Dan Simmonds

Rugby Safe Lead

Julia Hughes

Safeguarding Officer

Rugby Safe Officer

Dougie Burcombe

Head Groundsman

Josh Meagor

Women's Rugby Lead

Simon Rowles

Executive Committee Member

Gary Brain

Executive Committee Member

John Davies

Information Manager

Hayden Rogers

Executive Committee Member

Sue Moggridge

Executive Committee Member

Matt Diamond

Executive Committee Member

bottom of page